70 Vibe FM

Where the Seventies Musicians come to Play!

Recorded at Position
Top 1979 Album


advanced divider

The Wall - Pink Floyd

The Wall – Pink Floyd 1

The Wall is the eleventh studio album by the English rock band Pink Floyd, released as a double album on 30 November 1979 by Harvest Records in the United Kingdom and by Columbia Records in the United States. It is the last studio album released with the line-up of guitarist David Gilmour, bass guitarist and lyricist Roger Waters, keyboardist Richard Wright, and drummer Nick Mason before Wright left the band. It was supported by a tour with elaborate theatrical effects, and adapted into a 1982 feature film, Pink Floyd – The Wall. The album features the band’s only single to top various charts, “Another Brick in the Wall, Part 2”.

As with Pink Floyd’s prior three albums, The Wall is a concept album, exploring themes of abandonment and personal isolation. It is a rock opera that follows Pink, a character whom Waters modelled after himself and the band’s original leader, Syd Barrett. Pink’s life begins with the loss of his father during the Second World War and continues with abuse from his schoolteachers, an overprotective mother, and the breakdown of his marriage; all contribute to his eventual self-imposed isolation from society, represented by a metaphorical wall. Waters conceived the album during Pink Floyd’s 1977 In the Flesh Tour, when his frustration with the audience became so acute that he imagined a wall between the audience and the stage. The album features a harsher and more theatrical style than Pink Floyd’s previous albums. Wright left the band during its production but remained as a salaried musician, performing with Pink Floyd during the Wall tour.

The album was one of the best selling of 1980, and by 1999 it had sold over 23 million RIAA-certified units (11.5 million albums), making it the third highest certified album in the United States.[4] Rolling Stone placed The Wall at number 87 on its list of “The 500

Released: 30 November 1979

Recorded: December 1978 – November 1979 at Britannia Row Super Bear Studio Studio Miraval (France) CBS 30th Street Studio (New York) Producers Workshop (Los Angeles)

Genre:Progressive rock, Art rock, Progressive pop

Length: 80:54

Label: Harvest Columbia

Producers: Bob Ezrin, David Gilmour, James Guthrie and Roger Waters

Singles released from the Album:

Another Brick in the Wall, Part 2″ / “One of My Turns” Released in November 1979

Run Like Hell” / “Don’t Leave Me Now” Released in April 1980

Comfortably Numb” / “Hey You” Released in June 1980

advanced divider
advanced divider
This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience. We are committed to protecting your privacy and ensuring your data is handled in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).