70 Vibe FM

Where the Seventies Musicians come to Play!

Recorded at Position
Top 1979 Album


advanced divider

Fear of Music - Talking Heads

Fear of Music – Talking Heads 1

Fear of Music is the third studio album by American new wave band Talking Heads, released on 3 August 1979 on Sire Records. It was recorded at locations in New York City between April and May 1979 and was produced by the quartet and Brian Eno. The album reached number 21 on the Billboard 200 in the United States and peaked at number 33 on the UK Albums Chart. Three songs were released as singles between 1979 and 1980: “Life During Wartime”, “I Zimbra”, and “Cities”. The record was certified Gold in the U.S. in 1985.

Fear of Music received favourable reviews from critics. Praise centred on its unconventional rhythms and frontman David Byrne’s lyrical performances. The record is often considered one of the best Talking Heads releases. It has featured in several publications’ lists of the best albums of all time. Britain’s Channel 4 named the record at number 76 in its 2005 countdown of The 100 Greatest Albums. In 2006 it was remastered and reissued with four bonus tracks.

Released: 3 August 1979

Recorded: 22 April and 6 May 1979, basic tracks recorded at Chris Frantz’s and Tina Weymouth’s loft, Long Island City [with Record Plant remote truck]; additional recording & mixing at The Hit Factory in NYC, Atlantic Studios in Manhattan, RPM Sound Studios in NYC, Record Plant in NYC.

Genre: New wave, Post-punk, Dance-rock

Length: 40:40

Label: Sire

Producer: Brian Eno and Talking Heads

Singles released from the Album:

Life During Wartime” Released in October 1979

I Zimbra” Released in February 1980

Cities” Released in July 1980

advanced divider
advanced divider
This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience. We are committed to protecting your privacy and ensuring your data is handled in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).