70 Vibe FM

Where the Seventies Musicians come to Play!

Recorded at Position
Top 1977 Album


advanced divider

Pink Flag - Wire

Pink Flag – Wire 1

Pink Flag is the debut studio album by English post-punk band Wire. It was released in December 1977, through Harvest Records. Though the album failed to chart on its initial release, the album has been widely acclaimed and is considered influential by critics.

Upon its release, Robert Christgau of The Village Voice called Pink Flag a “punk suite” and praised its “simultaneous rawness and detachment” and detected a rock-and-roll irony similar to but “much grimmer and more frightening” than the Ramones.

Although the album was released to critical acclaim, it was not a big seller. The album was listed at number 412 on Rolling Stone’s list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time in 2009 and at number 378 in NME’s list of the same name in 2013. Music journalist Stuart Maconie described it as “extraordinary” by the standards of the time at which it was produced. Pitchfork ranked Pink Flag number 22 in its list “Top 100 Albums of the 1970s”. The album was included in Robert Dimery’s 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

The album’s wide-ranging influence is exemplified by the number of bands which have covered its songs. Hardcore punk and post-hardcore acts that have covered songs from Pink Flag include Henry Rollins (“Ex Lion Tamer”, on Drive by Shooting), Minor Threat (“1 2 X U”, on Flex Your Head), and Firehose (“Mannequin”, on Live Totem Pole), while Minutemen attributed to Pink Flag their approach of recording and releasing briefer songs. American alternative rock band R.E.M. reworked “Strange” on their 1987 album Document. Britpop band Elastica also used a riff similar to that of “Three Girl Rhumba” for their song “Connection”. Graham Coxon of Blur cited Pink Flag as an influence on his eighth studio album A+E.

Released: December 1977

Recorded: September–October 1977 at Advision Studios, London, England, UK

Genre: Art punk, Punk rock, Post-punk

Length: 35:37

Label: Harvest

Producer: Mike Thorne

No Singles released from the Album

advanced divider
advanced divider
This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience.