70 Vibe FM




Recorded at position


2112 - Rush

Released: 1 April 1976


Recorded: February 1976 at Toronto Sound Studios, Toronto, Canada

Genre: Progressive rock, Hard rock, Heavy metal, Progressive metal

Length: 38:42

Label: Anthem (Canada), Atlantic (Japan), Epic/Sony (Japan), Mercury

Producers: Rush and Terry Brown

2112 (pronounced “twenty-one twelve”) is the fourth studio album by Canadian rock band Rush. Released on 1 April 1976, it features the seven-part title suite composed by Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson, with lyrics written by Neil Peart telling a dystopian story set in the year 2112. It is sometimes described as a concept album although the songs on the second side are unrelated to the suite. Rush repeated this arrangement on the 1978 album Hemispheres.

2112 is one of two Rush albums listed in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die (the other being Moving Pictures). In 2006, a poll of Planet Rock listeners picked 2112 as the definitive Rush album. In 2012, it was ranked second on Rolling Stone’s list of ‘Your Favorite Prog Rock Albums of All Time’, as voted for in a reader’s poll, one of three Rush albums included (the others being Moving Pictures and Hemispheres).

A deluxe edition was released in 2012 as both a CD/DVD and a CD/Blu-ray. The CD featured the entire album remastered, as well as three live bonus tracks from their 1981 concert at Northlands Coliseum. The DVD and Blu-ray included the album in three different HD formats, as well as on-screen lyrics, liner notes, and a digital comic book depicting the story of the title track.

Singles released from the Album:

The Twilight Zone” Released in 1976

2112 Overture/The Temples of Syrinx” Released in 1976

A Passage to Bangkok” Released in 1977