70 Vibe FM

Where the Seventies Musicians come to Play!

Recorded at Position
Top 1973 Album


advanced divider

Houses of the Holy - Led Zeppelin

Houses of the Holy – Led Zeppelin

Houses of the Holy is the fifth studio album by English rock band Led Zeppelin, released on 28 March 1973 by Atlantic Records. It is their first album composed of entirely original material and it represents a turning point in musical direction for the band, who had begun to record songs with more layering and production techniques.

Containing some of the band’s most famous songs, including “The Song Remains the Same”, “The Rain Song”, and “No Quarter”, Houses of the Holy became a commercial success, and was later certified 11x platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 1999. In 2012, the album was ranked at #148 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. The title track was originally recorded for the album, but was delayed until the release of band’s next album Physical Graffiti in 1975.

Released: 28 March 1973

Recorded: December 1971 – August 1972 at Rolling Stones Mobile Studio, Stargroves and Headley Grange;Island Studios, London

Genre: Hard rock, Heavy metal

Length: 40:57

Label: Atlantic

Producer: Jimmy Page

Singles released from the Album:

Over the Hills and Far Away/Dancing Days” Released in May 1973

D’yer Mak’er/The Crunge” Released in September 1973

advanced divider
advanced divider
This website uses cookies and asks your personal data to enhance your browsing experience.